Since 1986, NCCAP has trained and certified over 150,000 individuals in person-centered care using the Social Model of Care. Our certifications are designed to ensure care providers possess the competencies to meet Federal and State regulations. NCCAP offers 4 levels of Professional Certification:

1. Activity Professional Apprentice Certified (APAC)
2. Activity Professional Certified (APC)
3. Activity Director Certified (ADC)
4. Activity Consultant Certified (ACC)

Activity Professional Apprentice Certified (APAC) requirements are the same as those for Activity Professional Certified (APC) except for requiring less than the total number of hours of work experience. When the applicable number of hours or work experience are achieved, APAC can Level Change to APC. 

Note: Starting January 1, 2019 Activity Assistant Certified Provisional (AACP) is no longer offered and Activity Assistant Certified (AAC)  is changed to Activity Professional Certified (APC). Anyone who earned AACP prior to 1/1/2019 still has up to the 4-year time-frame to complete the necessary requirements to earn APC. 

Note: Starting October 1, 2019, Activity Director Certified Provisional (ADCP) is no longer offered. All individuals who have started ADCP prior to October 1, 2019 maintain the time-frame of up to 6 years to complete all 5  qualification components ADC. Requirements for ADCP:

  • Academic Education: High School Diploma/GED or higher
  • Required Curriculum: MEPAP 1
  • And meet 1 of the following 3 requirements:
    • Activity Experience:  # of hours for Academic Education level per ADC Tracks 1, 2, 3 or 4
    • Continuing Education (CE): # of clock hours for Academic Education level per ADC Tracks 1, 2, 3 or 4
    • Required Curriculum: MEPAP Part 2
  • ADCP is valid for 6 years and must be renewed every 2 years with 30 hours of Continuing Education (CE)
  • ADCP is nonrenewable after 6 years


NCCAP Certified Professionals can receive specializations that indicate advanced studies related to engagement and person-centered care in the following areas:



  1. 10 Continuing Education (CE) clock hours within the past 2 years are required in addition to the CE requirements of your certification level (CEs in the past 5 years will be accepted for Initial Application).
  2. Topic of all CE clock hours must be related to those listed in the NCCAP Body of Knowledge. Applicant must submit evidence and description of the CE on the Specialization application.
  3. Specialization designation recognizes competency to understand a team approach, direct an activity team, and carry out an activity program in the Specialization area.
  4. Specialization designations are renewed biennially. Individuals possessing Activity Professional Certification renew their Specialization at the same time of Professional Certification renewal.

Back to Top of Page


You can only renew your certification using the link in the Email Renewal Notification to log-in and renew online. NCCAP sends the Email Renewal Notification to the email we have on record for you in your online profile.

If you did not receive an Email Renewal Notification, please call the NCCAP Office to verify your correct email. If you did not yet create an online profile, please call the NCCAP Office and you will be guided to create one. 

Please note that Email Renewal Notifications are sent monthly starting 4 months prior to your expiration date. You can renew at any time during these 4 months, though your renewal date always stays the same. If you renew after your expiration date you will be charged a $55 Late Fee.  

1. Activity Professional Certification renewal is required every two years. Late renewal and payment date do NOT change the two-year period. To renew you need to acquire continuing education during the two years after initial certification and thereafter. Continuing Education (CE) requirements are as follows:
    • APC - 20 CEs every two years
    • ADC or ADCP - 30 CEs every two years
    • ACC - 40 hours CEs every two years
    • Specializations require an additional 10 CEs in that specialization every two years
2. Home Care and Montessori Dementia Engagement Certification renewal is required every year. Late renewal and payment date does not change the one-year period. Renewal requires 5 hours of Continuing Education.
3. Renewal email reminders will be sent 90 days prior to expiration and then monthly thereafter.
4. Renewal information, fee schedule and required application forms can be found on NCCAP.ORG.
5. Renewal applications can be submitted online on NCCAP.ORG, or print, complete and submit by mail.
6. Submit renewal applications six weeks prior to your expiration date for processing. Renewal fees are due at time of renewal submission. Renewals received without appropriate forms or payment are considered incomplete.
7. Notices of incomplete applications are sent by email during initial processing and periodically thereafter up to one year from expiration of certification.
8. Processing of renewal applications can be expedited for an additional Fast Track Fee.
9. Certification status can only be given after review and approval are complete.

10. If your certification has expired for more than one year, you must submit a new application rather than a renewal application and comply with all standards in effect.

Back to Top of Page


If you seek a Level Change, you need to complete a new Application that will be reviewed against your most recent application on file. It is not necessary to duplicate information already on file in your most recent application. You only need to add additional information supporting the Level Change and pay the Level Change fee (see website for Fee Schedule). If approved, your certification expiration date remains the same.

NOTE: If you seek a Level Change at the same time you are renewing, you must complete both the Renewal Application and the Level Change Application and pay the required fees.


  • As a "thank you", NCCAP provides retiring Professionals with an acknowledgment of service.
  • This is not a certification and indicates you no longer work in the field of activities.
  • If you choose to re-enter the field of activities, you are required to apply for Initial Certification and meet the current NCCAP Certification Standards.  

 Back to Top of Page